Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 orb spells and mettle (3.5 question)

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert Email Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List
   
Message:

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]
Rolling Eyes [8|] Confused [?!:] Help [?:] King [3|:]
Laughing [:OD] What [W] Oooohh [:H] Down [:E]

  Check here to include your profile signature.
Check here to subscribe to this topic.
    

T O P I C    R E V I E W
Kilvan Posted - 28 Sep 2011 : 15:29:55
Hello fellow scribes

Super non-realm related question: If a target of an orb spell saves against the blinding/dazing/whatever secondary effect, does he still takes the damage if he has the Mettle ability*?

MY take, the rule the as per written says no, the rule as intended says yes, but I wanted to know your take on it.


* Mettle is an ability that negates all secondary effect on a successful Fortitude or Will save. Problem is, the orb spell's main effect is damage with no save, and a secondary status effect which allows a fort or will save.
4   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
Kilvan Posted - 28 Sep 2011 : 21:05:05
Thanks for the replies, that does make sense.
Grunker Posted - 28 Sep 2011 : 20:58:51
Diffan is indeed correct.

Mettle only applies when a succesful save would incur a secondary effect. This is not the case with Orb spells - here, you take damage and THEN make a save. If it had said "the target is blinded unless he saves, if it saves, it takes X damage" Mettle would have negated the damage :)
Hawkins Posted - 28 Sep 2011 : 18:06:57
I believe that Diffan is correct.
Diffan Posted - 28 Sep 2011 : 15:59:11
My take would be that he takes the damage (as there is no save) and the effect of the Orb (blindness, daze, etc..) would not happen.

Candlekeep Forum © 1999-2025 Candlekeep.com Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000