Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 orb spells and mettle (3.5 question)
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Kilvan
Senior Scribe

Canada
896 Posts

Posted - 28 Sep 2011 :  15:29:55  Show Profile Send Kilvan a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Hello fellow scribes

Super non-realm related question: If a target of an orb spell saves against the blinding/dazing/whatever secondary effect, does he still takes the damage if he has the Mettle ability*?

MY take, the rule the as per written says no, the rule as intended says yes, but I wanted to know your take on it.


* Mettle is an ability that negates all secondary effect on a successful Fortitude or Will save. Problem is, the orb spell's main effect is damage with no save, and a secondary status effect which allows a fort or will save.

Edited by - Kilvan on 28 Sep 2011 15:30:22

Diffan
Great Reader

USA
4487 Posts

Posted - 28 Sep 2011 :  15:59:11  Show Profile Send Diffan a Private Message  Reply with Quote
My take would be that he takes the damage (as there is no save) and the effect of the Orb (blindness, daze, etc..) would not happen.

Diffan's NPG Generator: FR NPC Generator

E6 Options: Epic 6 Campaign
Go to Top of Page

Hawkins
Great Reader

USA
2131 Posts

Posted - 28 Sep 2011 :  18:06:57  Show Profile  Visit Hawkins's Homepage Send Hawkins a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I believe that Diffan is correct.

Errant d20 Designer - My Blog (last updated January 06, 2016)

One, two! One, two! And through and through
The vorpal blade went snicker-snack!
He left it dead, and with its head
He went galumphing back. --Lewis Carroll, Through the Looking-Glass

"Mmm, not the darkness," Myrin murmured. "Don't cast it there." --Erik Scott de Bie, Shadowbane

* My character sheets (PFRPG, 3.5, and AE versions; not viewable in Internet Explorer)
* Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Reference Document (PFRPG OGL Rules)
* The Hypertext d20 SRD (3.5 OGL Rules)
* 3.5 D&D Archives

My game design work:
* Heroes of the Jade Oath (PFRPG, conversion; Rite Publishing)
* Compendium Arcanum Volume 1: Cantrips & Orisons (PFRPG, designer; d20pfsrd.com Publishing)
* Compendium Arcanum Volume 2: 1st-Level Spells (PFRPG, designer; d20pfsrd.com Publishing)
* Martial Arts Guidebook (forthcoming) (PFRPG, designer; Rite Publishing)
Go to Top of Page

Grunker
Acolyte

Denmark
37 Posts

Posted - 28 Sep 2011 :  20:58:51  Show Profile Send Grunker a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Diffan is indeed correct.

Mettle only applies when a succesful save would incur a secondary effect. This is not the case with Orb spells - here, you take damage and THEN make a save. If it had said "the target is blinded unless he saves, if it saves, it takes X damage" Mettle would have negated the damage :)

"And on the pedestal these words appear: My name is Ozymandias, king of kings: Look on my works ye Mighty, and despair!" - Percy Shelley
Go to Top of Page

Kilvan
Senior Scribe

Canada
896 Posts

Posted - 28 Sep 2011 :  21:05:05  Show Profile Send Kilvan a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Thanks for the replies, that does make sense.
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Candlekeep Forum © 1999-2025 Candlekeep.com Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000