Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 Summoning and Planar Barriers

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert Email Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List
   
Message:

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]
Rolling Eyes [8|] Confused [?!:] Help [?:] King [3|:]
Laughing [:OD] What [W] Oooohh [:H] Down [:E]

  Check here to include your profile signature.
Check here to subscribe to this topic.
    

T O P I C    R E V I E W
Na-Gang Posted - 18 Dec 2006 : 11:17:34
So, where do magically summoned creatures come from? Are they generated out of the Weave or are they plucked from somewhere and teleported to the caster?

I ask because the campaign I'm running has a planar barrier or two in effect which prevent all planar travel through them. Teleporting on the same plane is fine, but nothing can enter or leave the plane at those points.

So, would a Summoning spell work in such an area?

Thoughts? Opinions?
15   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
Victor_ograygor Posted - 22 Dec 2006 : 09:23:23
Okay havent thought of it like that.

I hope that the mages have the feat extend spell, if you get my meaning
Ergdusch Posted - 22 Dec 2006 : 09:16:59
quote:
Originally posted by Victor_ograygor

They are all waiting on a line, and one of Mystras sevents call them up... Number 2343 Succubus get ready to go, a mage has just called for you



Now Victor, that is a call service of a different kind, if you get my meaning!
Victor_ograygor Posted - 21 Dec 2006 : 20:37:43
They are all waiting on a line, and one of Mystras sevents call them up... Number 2343 Succubus get ready to go, a mage has just called for you
Besshalar Posted - 21 Dec 2006 : 20:22:38
quote:
Originally posted by LucianBarasu

yes, but with that barrier in place, the summoned creature, brought from someplace else in the realms, under the barrier, would probably dissapear after a round ( if they're lucky) due to another mage summoning someplace else...

*Spell goes off, outsider summoned*
"ha-HA! FEEL MY POW-..."
*Outsider goes to swing at foe and dissapears again to another summons*
" ....um...yeah....*
*Looks around for gone Outsider*
*Foe laughs and closes*


Or could the summoned creatures have somesort of call waiting system ?

LucianBarasu Posted - 21 Dec 2006 : 20:08:02
yes, but with that barrier in place, the summoned creature, brought from someplace else in the realms, under the barrier, would probably dissapear after a round ( if they're lucky) due to another mage summoning someplace else...

*Spell goes off, outsider summoned*
"ha-HA! FEEL MY POW-..."
*Outsider goes to swing at foe and dissapears again to another summons*
" ....um...yeah....*
*Looks around for gone Outsider*
*Foe laughs and closes*
Gray Richardson Posted - 21 Dec 2006 : 16:19:27
Assuming a planar barrier that cuts off all access to planar travel, it occured to me a summoning spell might yank the nearest target from the Material Plane to the caster.

Sure, the spell looks first to the appropriate plane for the creature in question, but should that method of searching be frustrated, it is conceivable that the spell might look elsewhere.

Surely there are lots of summonable critters of the appropriate types already present on the Material Plane scattered hither and yon. The spell could bounce off the barrier and grab one of them instead.
Victor_ograygor Posted - 18 Dec 2006 : 17:39:17
quote:
Originally posted by Kuje

I'd say all summoning spells would be disabled, even natures ally since summoning spells summon fiends/outsiders/planar animals/etc from the planes and to the Prime or the planets within the Prime, etc. Yes, there are normal animals on the planes as well as fiendish/celestial/etc animals.



Yes i agree with you Kuje. ore you agree with me - but we have the same opinion
Kuje Posted - 18 Dec 2006 : 16:44:52
I'd say all summoning spells would be disabled, even natures ally since summoning spells summon fiends/outsiders/planar animals/etc from the planes and to the Prime or the planets within the Prime, etc. Yes, there are normal animals on the planes as well as fiendish/celestial/etc animals.
dwarvenranger Posted - 18 Dec 2006 : 16:10:04
Guess since you can only summon extraplanar creatures with the Summon Monster spell it woudn't work. However with the Summon Nature's Ally spell I do feel you could summon a creature, since it would be like "teleporting on the same plane."
Victor_ograygor Posted - 18 Dec 2006 : 16:00:20
quote:
Originally posted by Na-Gang

So, where do magically summoned creatures come from? Are they generated out of the Weave or are they plucked from somewhere and teleported to the caster?

I ask because the campaign I'm running has a planar barrier or two in effect which prevent all planar travel through them. Teleporting on the same plane is fine, but nothing can enter or leave the plane at those points.

So, would a Summoning spell work in such an area?

Thoughts? Opinions?



MMhh....................
WalkerNinja Posted - 18 Dec 2006 : 15:55:11
quote:
Originally posted by dwarvenranger


Where did he say that all Conjuration (Summoning) spells are prevented?



He didn't... but he did say...

quote:
I ask because the campaign I'm running has a planar barrier or two in effect which prevent all planar travel through them. Teleporting on the same plane is fine, but nothing can enter or leave the plane at those points.

So, would a Summoning spell work in such an area?

dwarvenranger Posted - 18 Dec 2006 : 15:50:54
quote:
Originally posted by Victor_ograygor

quote:
Originally posted by dwarvenranger

Native summoned creatures (animals, magical beasts, etc.) would be okay, but extraplanar (outsider) creatures including those with a celestial or fiendish template could not be called.




I would say no to this, you cannot summon creatures in a arrea guarded with magic that prevent Conjuration (Summoning)spellīs, not even Native creatures that is summond.


Summon Nature’s Ally I
http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/summonNaturesAllyI.htm



Where did he say that all Conjuration (Summoning) spells are prevented?
Victor_ograygor Posted - 18 Dec 2006 : 15:45:42
quote:
Originally posted by dwarvenranger

Native summoned creatures (animals, magical beasts, etc.) would be okay, but extraplanar (outsider) creatures including those with a celestial or fiendish template could not be called.




I would say no to this, you cannot summon creatures in a arrea guarded with magic that prevent Conjuration (Summoning)spellīs, not even Native creatures that is summond.


Summon Nature’s Ally I
http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/summonNaturesAllyI.htm
dwarvenranger Posted - 18 Dec 2006 : 15:28:30
Native summoned creatures (animals, magical beasts, etc.) would be okay, but extraplanar (outsider) creatures including those with a celestial or fiendish template could not be called.
Victor_ograygor Posted - 18 Dec 2006 : 12:10:40
I would say no, youre Summoning spell would not work.

When a place ore an area is guarded form spells that prevent all forms of planar travel, youre Summoning spell would not work.

Summon monster spells are form the Conjuration (Summoning) scoll, and therefore no.
http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/summonMonsterI.htm

Candlekeep Forum © 1999-2025 Candlekeep.com Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000