Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Products
 Forgotten Realms Novels
 Cancellation?! Tell me it ain't so!
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Asator
Acolyte

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 31 Jul 2008 :  06:30:54  Show Profile  Visit Asator's Homepage Send Asator a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Hi folks, well met. I'm a newb to the boards and am having a crisis.

Today I started work at a half priced book store and when asked by a new co-worker what kind of books I read, I told them that I am big into fantasy, specifically Forgotten Realms, Dragonlance and Ravenloft. So my new co-worker says, "Buy'em while you can, hahah..... You did hear that WotC is cancelling all their fantasy novels, right?"

I realized after a few moments that I am standing there with my mouth hanging open, staring at this person, trying not to burst into tears. "Are you serious?", I ask, like a child who was just told that Santa doesnt exsist..

They go on to tell me that since 4E was introduced, WotC plans on only focusing on the gaming aspect and not on the storytelling aspect. Now, I'll admit that I'm much more of a reader than a gamer, but to me they seem to go hand in hand, the games and the novels that is.

Now, after looking through some of the posts on this board I'm even more confused. Some lines are being cancelled, others arent, this is in, this is out...

Anyway, I'm wondering if someone can do me a favor and answer some of these questions, either in this thread or in PM, and save me the hassle of sorting through all the topics and threads to find the meat.